Skip to main content

Clark-Vitt Elementary

Union R-XI School District

    Make changes to the header and footer on the "Edit Header and Footer" tab on the left.

    Quick Links

    Principal: Dr. Aaron Burd
    Asst Principal: Rhea Summers

    1 Clark Avenue
    Union, MO 63084
    Phone: 636-583-6997
    Fax: 636-583-8517 


    Clark Vitt Elementary is part of the Union R-XI School District, located in Union, MO. The school is surrounded by a beautiful, wooded area that includes two parks and a lake. It is a 4th, 5th, and 6th grade elementary school with approximately 560 students. There are eight fourth grade classrooms, eight fifth grade classrooms, and seven sixth grade classrooms. Clark Vitt is proud to have the best teachers, support staff, students, and parents.

    On behalf of the entire district, I want to thank you for your partnership during these trying times. This unprecedented situation has no doubt been a struggle on multiple fronts. But as a district, we appreciate how you’ve continued to support us and put confidence in our district to do the right thing.

    Here are a few updates and items of information as we look toward the month of June.

    Summer school: We will NOT have a typical ‘in school’ summer school in June. We do however have a handful of students at the middle and high school level who are doing online virtual learning in the month of June.
    We are looking at the possibility of a July ‘in school’ summer school beginning on July 6 and lasting through July 31. This possibility is contingent upon guidance and recommendations from both state and local government and health officials. Once a decision is made about if or whether we will have July summer school, more information will be shared.

    Graduation: Friendly reminder, we have postponed graduation until June 18 at Union High School. We are still finalizing plans as we review and await further guidance from both state and local government and health officials. As soon as details are complete, more information will be shared.

    FREE meals: It is our intent to continue to distribute free meals on Tuesdays from 10:00 am - 2:00 pm at Union High School to all children 18 years of age and under through Tuesday, June 23. As long as we have demand and families picking up meals, we plan to continue this opportunity for the next four Tuesdays.

    Survey: In the coming weeks, you can expect to see a survey from the district that will assist us in planning efforts for the 20/21 school year. Your participation in this upcoming survey will be much appreciated.

    Again in closing, thank you for all your cooperation and patience as we work through these challenging times. If there is anything you need from the district, please don’t hesitate to reach out and we will do everything we can to assist.
    Thank you and stay well.

    Dr. Steve Weinhold, Superintendent of Schools

    Posted 5/28/20

    Under the Families First Coronavirus Response Act of 2020, families that qualify for free or reduced price meals at school may be eligible for a new one-time Pandemic Electronic Benefits Transfer (P-EBT) of up to $302 per child (Pre-Kindergarten – Grade 12) to help cover the cost of meals students have eaten at home on days that schools have been closed. Students can receive P-EBT benefits even if they have been or continue to receive meals provided by the school district during the school closure. If your child was not previously eligible for free or reduced price meals, but you have now lost income, you may be eligible to receive P-EBT benefits (review the P-EBT Eligibility Criteria document below).

    The benefit is placed on an Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) card families use to buy food. If you received Food Stamp (SNAP) benefits in March, do not apply for these new/additional benefits. The full $302 will automatically be loaded to your existing EBT card. If you did not receive Food Stamp (SNAP) benefits in March, you must apply for this benefit by June 30, 2020 (see below).

    The most efficient way to apply is to submit your application online at You will also likely experience a faster approval process. If you’re not able to apply online, you can follow the link below to the paper application. The fillable PDF document can then be emailed or mailed to the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE). You will find complete instructions and additional details in the letter to families below.

    Please review these important documents carefully:

    The Department of Social Services (DSS) will send families a letter indicating they are approved or denied. If you have questions on how to apply for the P-EBT benefit, contact DSS through the online chat feature at or call 855-373-4636. For more information on the EBT card, visit:

    Posted 5/20/20


    Nonpublic School Participation in Services through the Coronavirus Aide, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act

    On March 27, 2020, President Trump signed the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security Act (CARES) Act into law. The CARES Act is a $2 trillion relief package to address the economic fallout related to the COVID-19 public health emergency.

    Please click attachment below for additional information.

    Posted 5/20/20

    2020-2021 Union High School Virtual Summer School Application.

    Application Due Dates: May 25th for Session 1 and June 22nd for Session 2.

    Incoming Freshman may take our Physical Science Reinforcement Course if they want to take Biology as a Freshman. Click here to access the application. 

    Application Due Date: May 25th.

    Please use link below for applying to either session.

    Posted 5/18/20

    In an effort to highlight and recognize team members who work in our district, we are starting the Wildcat of the Week. The Wildcat of the Week will be a random selection of team members from different buildings and different positions. Our goal is to email the Wildcat of the Week out every Friday and also share on our social media outlets and website.

    Below is a list of honored employees.

    Posted 8/30/19

    Important Dates

    Morning Announcements